My “Lazy Girl” Guide to Fitness

I was inspired to write this post by my lovely friends that hate to exercise. I understand the feeling. There was a time when I felt the same way! Today’s post is all about giving you extremely easy tips to follow, even if the thought of working out makes you sick.

walking-jungle_gal

Suggestion 1: Add 30 minutes of brisk walking to your daily routine

Walking is often overlooked because walking to get fit seems too easy. Well, you’re in luck! Walking IS easy, and it’s a great way to burn some extra calories.

Suggestion 2: Add resistance

To increase the intensity of your walk, add some resistance into the mix. Try light hand weights, ankle weights, a weighted vest, or even put a few books in your backpack and carry it with you on your daily walking route. Adding resistance will help you tone, strengthen, and burn even more calories. Slowly increase the weight over time for better results.

Suggestion 3: Try interval training

When you hear “interval training”, your mind probably thinks about high intensity work outs. I love HIIT, but you can also adopt the concept of interval training when walking to your fitness goals. Start out walking briskly for 5 minutes, then power/speed walk for 1 minute. Slow back down to a brisk walk for 30 seconds, and then power/speed walk again for 1 minute. Repeat this cycle of medium to fast paced walking intervals for 20 minutes. Cool down with 5 minutes of brisk walking.

Suggestion 4: Add variety

Walking doesn’t have to be boring for you. If you typically use a treadmill, try walking outside a couple times every week. If you’re bored with walking on a track, try a neighborhood stroll instead. If you’re ready for something more challenging, skip the flat surfaces and do some uphill walking to increase your overall benefits.

Suggestion 5: Stay motivated with an amazing playlist 

Never underestimate the power of a phenomenal playlist. Make sure you add songs that really empower you and make you feel like a bad ass. It’ll motivate you not only to complete your work out, but to finish like a boss. This past year, I started listening to motivational speeches while I walked. At first I thought it was a little cheesy, but I was convinced this was the push I needed after my first work out adding these bad boys into the mix. I’m the type of person that (occasionally) needs someone to get in my ear and yell at me because I’m just not going as hard as I can. Motivational speeches are perfect for that. Just search them on Youtube!

 

A NOTE TO SELF

You’re not in this alone! A lot of people want to get healthy and fit, but they don’t feel comfortable with what they see as traditional exercise. Get a group of your family, friends, or coworkers together and set up a challenge for yourselves. Agree to walk for 30 minutes at least 3 days a week to start out, and follow my other suggestions as well. Paired with a healthy diet, quality sleep, and plenty of water, you’ll start reaping the benefits sooner than you think!

Comment below with any questions, like, share, and subscribe!

-Erin


Leave a comment