Loving the Skin You’re In

It’s Thoughtful Thursday (is that a thing??) and I just want to share what’s on my mind.

About six months ago, I posted this picture on Instagram.

IMG_3460.jpg

I looked pretty good. I’ve never had “abs” before, so I was very proud of what I saw.

Today, the baby six pack in the making has become more…fluffy.

If you’ve been following my story, you know that I used to have major issues with body image. Major. For years. No shame here. It’s the truth. The funny thing is, I can hobble past a mirror naked today and get stopped in my tracks. I carefully reverse (I’m getting better with steering the crutches guys!) and I give myself a wink in the mirror because dammit, I think I look good! Haha

My body is going through changes, and I’ve decided to love it when it’s in pretty good shape AND when it’s soft and jiggly. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not just giving up on life and letting myself go. And I’m not telling you to do that either. My point is that you gotta love yourself no matter where you are in your journey.

It took what felt like forever to get to this place. A mindset where I can love, appreciate, and honor my body no matter what it looks like.

Earlier this week we shed old skin (figuratively), but today I just want you to notice the skin you’re in. Notice it and love it.

-Erin ❤


Leave a comment